Something to share in every single week throughout the year of 2013

Week 12 – A Thought To Ponder: “Life As A Play”

week 14_play
“All the world is a stage and all men and women merely player.”
– William Shakespeare

I have a question.
Do we play life or life plays us?
If we play life, we are freely to choose. If life plays us, we don’t have choices at all.

Look at the world we are living in. Look at the people around us. Look at their lives. Look at ours. What do you see?

I think I’m freely to choose, because I’m aware that there are countless of thoughts that I can choose to have at the moment I think about anything, there are thousands of words that I can choose to say at the moment I speak, also, there are so many actions that I can choose to take at the moment I do anything.

This idea seems to be true but it also seems to be untrue when I recognize that the choices I have made have fatefully brought me to a situation in which I will more likely to think that the choices I have made were already decided. Not decided by myself, but by life itself.

Also, there are other times that I realize no matter which path I choose to take, it would eventually takes me to the place I should be.

If that is true, it is life that plays us. Not us play life.

Camera: Iphone 4S

19 responses

  1. I agree with Shakespeare. Everyone has a chance to play all kinds of player. :)

    March 24, 2013 at 6:40 am

    • Yes, I agree that too. :D

      April 1, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  2. You said….no matter which path you choose…it takes you to the place you should be. That means you are accepting your life choices as being the correct choices. Myself I think sometimes we choose a wrong path but no matter which ‘road of life’ we walk down we have to accept where we are.

    March 24, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    • Yes, maybe our “road of life” is already written in somewhere out there…maybe the meaning of “to choose” is just an illusion.

      April 1, 2013 at 8:37 pm

  3. Life is a play after all.

    Sometimes, we don a mask to get through life and for the sake of others.

    March 24, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    • Life as a play, as well as a mystery…

      April 1, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  4. Seems like it all depends on the choices we make, and they don’t always lead to the same end! Something to think about, Cristina!

    March 25, 2013 at 4:06 am

    • When we choose one path, the others are canceled. We never know where the others paths might lead us. If we are lost, we will let our life plays us, our life path is written and our choices will lead us to the same destination, as those choices are merely part of the illusion that we think we can choose. If we are awake, we may see how our life plays us, and from there, we maybe able to choose for ourselves…and escape the written play. :D

      April 1, 2013 at 8:50 pm

  5. Sometimes I feel like it’s maybe a little bit of both… if that’s possible. :)

    March 25, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    • It’s not. I just don’t think it can work out like that. Just no.

      March 27, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    • I think so :D
      It’s better to have both than no choices :D

      April 1, 2013 at 8:51 pm

  6. I believe we make the choices that will lead us to the path already decided… I have, many times tried to change the course, and yet I feel the strong pull of an already chosen pathway before me…. Whether good or not so good; the learning it has given to me may have been hard; yet always another step toward maturity…

    March 26, 2013 at 4:25 am

    • Yes, you totally got my thought. :D
      I feel that too. It is like that life is already decided before the moment of birth. There are some major lessons, or sometimes just one, needed to learn. Wherever I go, whatever I choose, those major lessons will be attracted to me in order to complete my life journey..

      April 1, 2013 at 9:06 pm

  7. Hmmm. This can spark an entire debate on Fate/predetermination vs. chance. I do appreciate the likening of life as a play. But you bring up a lot of other issues…..

    March 27, 2013 at 6:05 am

    • Life is a complicated thing, isn’t it? :D

      April 1, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  8. I think we are both, depending on how we choose to face our future. We can wait for life to make its course or we can be active participants, making sure our dreams becomes real.

    March 27, 2013 at 11:45 am

    • I’d rather be active participants if I really have the choice. :D

      April 1, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  9. If you ponder too much about it, you’ll get yourself in a twist. Just let yourself be and let life be. Eventually, you’ll figure whether you want life to play you or you want to play life.

    March 27, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    • Heehee :D Yes, let’s not ponder too much and just be happy and be ourselves. :D

      April 1, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

