Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 2 – Start Reading Your Unfinished Books

Why not start the New Year with a new reading goal list before January ends? I have found some new books that interest me, and I have the desire to start a new reading list, but every time when I look at the unread books placed silently on my bookshelves, that desire fades.

I gathered up all the unread books (physical books and e-books) that I have purchased over the last year and I found that the number of these books is just only … five. πŸ™‚

Here is the list of my unfinished books:

The User Illusion: Cutting Consciousness Down To Size, by Tor Norretranders;

Energy Medicine: Balancing Your Body’s Energies For Optimal Health, Joy, And Vitality Updated And Expanded, by Donna Eden and David Feinstein;

Conscious Dreaming: A Spiritual Path For Every Day Life, by Robert Moss;

Projections Of The Consciousness, by Waldo Vieira;

The Notebook, by Nicholas Sparks

Comparing with people who have got dozens or hundreds of unfinished books on the shelves, this is really not a big number. πŸ˜€

How many unfinished books do you own? I hope you get started reading them now!

Camera: Canon EOS 450D

Photo created on January 12, 2012.

38 responses

  1. I didn’t know these books but it’s a good challenge to read many books.
    I also till try it. πŸ™‚

    January 14, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • I have to read them, read them, read them all as soon as I can! πŸ˜€

      January 14, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  2. Northern Narratives

    I love to read books. I like your blog.

    January 14, 2012 at 10:16 am

    • Thanks! πŸ˜€ I like yours, too. I love picture of nature!

      January 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

  3. I rarely let my books left unfinished! I need to read them all, over and over and over again. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your reading time with those 5 books. ^^

    January 14, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    • I wish I could finish reading them in two months, cause I already smell the scent of some new books are coming to me. πŸ˜€

      January 14, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      • Much respect to you. Those books you have there are pretty heavy stuff – not chick lit or anything like that. xD

        January 14, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  4. Jackie Paulson

    I post my books and reviews on http://getreadingnow.wordpress.com
    and I love to read. I am on good reads too.
    I was suppose to read the Nicholas Sparks books last year, but didn’t finish so I have to finish in 2012- TBR Pile…

    January 14, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  5. I heard people saying about Nicholas Sparks love books are good to read, and that was why I bought his book last year. I have to finish reading it first. πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing your book blog with me! The kitty photo on the first page is so cute!

    January 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  6. Sounds like a very impressive list, Cristina!
    To tell you the truth, I don’t have too many new unread books at the moment. I get most of mine from the library, and while I don’t have anything checked-out at the moment, those books tend to be mostly pictures. Big surprise, right?! πŸ™‚

    January 14, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    • You love reading Visual Art/Ilustrations or Graphic Designs books, right? Those are great books! πŸ˜€

      January 16, 2012 at 11:58 am

      • I sure do! Just checked out 4 new ones (I’ve read one already, and I’m getting excited to look the others over, too)!
        πŸ™‚

        January 17, 2012 at 3:22 am

  7. I have only a couple of unread books. Lately, I have been reading books I already own instead of getting new ones! I really want to read the Energy Medicine book too! Enjoy your reading! πŸ™‚

    January 15, 2012 at 3:27 am

    • I haven’t read the book – Energy Medicine, yet. From the preview of the book, I believe it is a great book to help me purify my soul. πŸ˜„

      January 16, 2012 at 11:56 am

  8. I didn’t think I had any unfinished books to read (apart from one boring one I bought recently) but you’ve reminded me that I do! Hope you enjoy yours πŸ™‚

    January 15, 2012 at 4:55 am

    • What is that boring book that you bought? I won’t going to touch it. πŸ˜€

      January 16, 2012 at 11:45 am

  9. Hey cool photo! I have a quite a lot of unfinished books so it’s a really good idea to get them out and finish them off, especially while it’s so dark and cold all the time here at the moment!

    January 16, 2012 at 4:08 am

    • Agree! πŸ˜€ I love sitting on my bed reading when I don’t want to go out, especially in cold weather. It has been raining all day these days, so I just started reading them! ^0^

      January 16, 2012 at 10:41 am

  10. I liked The Notebook! =) A Walk to Remember is my favorite Nicholas Sparks book, though. I have a tooon of books on my to-read list [mainly because I’m trying to complete the Modern Library list]!

    If you’re looking for more books to add to that list, I suggest The Hunger Games! They are absolutely fantastic!! πŸ™‚

    January 16, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    • πŸ˜€ I just read the review about the book you mentioned, it sounds a great book with many “liked”. Thank you!

      January 18, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  11. I love this entry πŸ™‚

    January 17, 2012 at 5:59 am

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€

      January 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm

  12. I’ve two right now: Eldest and Hope’s End.

    It’s a bit embarrassing but I started on both last December 2011.

    But wow, there’s only one there in your list that sounds like fiction…

    January 18, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    • I like reading non-fiction books than fiction. πŸ˜€

      January 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      • I kinda find those things hard to deal with. In some way.

        But fiction can just let me see things I couldn’t with reality.

        January 30, 2012 at 1:17 pm

  13. Reading rules! Great plan for the new year!

    January 19, 2012 at 10:27 am

  14. I love this post! πŸ˜€ I’ve thought before that I’d like to have read all of the books I own, and I own a bunch of unread books. I also have a lot of partially read books. I have a tendency of starting a book, getting distracted and then starting another, and another. Hehe!
    It’s funny that you posted this now, because I had actually just been planning to use this year to finish some of those books I’ve started. The first book on my list is Little Women. Have you read it?

    January 21, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    • I’ll try to finish all the books I bought, even if I realize later that the book is too boring to read. I will still keep on reading it until the last page of the book. Doing this, I don’t feel badly about I wasted money, but on the other hand, to force myself to read, I waste my time. πŸ˜€ Haha. I haven’t read the book you mention. Have you finished reading it?

      January 26, 2012 at 11:00 am

      • No, I haven’t finished it yet. I don’t own Little Women, so I was going to barrow it from the library, but I haven’t been able to get it yet. In the meantime I finished one of the other books on my list that I had at home; and now, until I can get my hands on Little Women, I’m reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. It’s very fun! πŸ˜€
        Little Women is a great story, I love what I’ve read of it so far. Plus, I’m familiar with the story from watching movies based on it, but of course, movies are almost never exactly like the books.
        I bet you would like it! It’s not boring to read at all (at least I don’t think it is), so you wouldn’t be wasting money or time, haha. πŸ˜‰

        February 7, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is awesome! πŸ˜€ I just watched the “A Game of Shadow” at the cinema. I guess it is not as exciting as reading it on a book, but it is still nice! One of the most awesome thing of reading is that I can imagine all the outfits and faces of all the characters in the story. ^^

        February 9, 2012 at 10:55 am

      • Oh, I love watching Sherlock Holmes movies!! (I’m a big fan of movies and TV shows in general.) I haven’t seen “A Game of Shadows” yet, but I’d really like to see it. Have you seen “Sherlock” the BBC television show? (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1475582/) I completely adore it, hehe! πŸ˜€

        March 12, 2012 at 5:21 am

      • Just watched the page (link) you mentioned about! πŸ˜€ I haven’t watched the Sherlock TV series. I rarely watch TV series, because my father likes watching his favorite channel almost every single night! πŸ˜€ The only TV series I can watch is the Fringe! Cause he likes it too, so we can watch it together!

        March 12, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      • I watch Fringe, too! πŸ˜€ I love it! I had been behind in the series for awhile, but I finally got caught up recently, and now I’m watching season 4 online.
        If you ever get the chance to watch “Sherlock”, I bet you’d really like it. It’s a modern-day version of Sherlock Holmes, and it’s very fun!

        March 16, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  15. A library full! It’s somehow comforting. In an earthquake with no power, I’ll at least have kindling. πŸ™‚

    February 7, 2012 at 11:01 am

    • So true. πŸ™‚

      February 9, 2012 at 11:21 am

  16. Hi there Cristina – nice to meet you πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting my site today – I’m charmed. Love new visitors, & then I get to check out their site. You really do meet some interesting people via WordPress – and there’s a lot of creativity out there. I like your passtimes – all very creative. See you around πŸ™‚ Noeleen

    February 8, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • Thank you so much, Noeleen, for visiting my blog and liked it! πŸ˜€ You are one of the awesome people I meet via wordpress. So happy to meet you. πŸ˜€

      February 9, 2012 at 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

