Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 15 – Hidden Meaning Of Dreams

Dreams are great portal to our inner self, deepest emotion, creativity and to the unknown. The thoughts and feelings which were being neglected or suppressed in waking state are constantly exposed in the dreams. For some people, thoughts and feelings are reflected directly to them, but for others, thoughts and feelings are presented in symbolic forms or in disguises.

I have a tendency to speak indirectly. Not all the time, but in some occasions when I would like to get myself something or ask somebody for help. Like, when I’m getting thirsty and want to have a drink, instead of saying directly to my friend that I need a drink, I would ask, “Are you thirsty?” or say something like, “Why isn’t here any vending machine?” Or in situation like when I was being asked about subject regarded to my own feelings or deepest thoughts, I may not tell a straight forward answer. I have to wander off the subject, and reveal the answer piece by piece. Most of the time, people are still wondering the meaning of my answer. I’m neither hiding any truth nor being dishonest, in fact, this is the way how I like to communicate with people.

Like in the dreams. Images and words we see in the dream world don’t exactly mean what they mean. The true meaning is well hidden. We have to uncover it, like unfolding the layers of the onions. Layer by layer. Piece by piece. Once we peel off all the layers, we see the core. Then, we start to realize how things work and why things are hidden in that way, and finally, we decipher the meaning of our own dreams. Once we understand the dream world, we will understand ourselves in a more complete form.

Have a nice weekend, everyone! πŸ˜€

Camera: Canon EOS 450D
Photo created on April 14, 2012.

26 responses

  1. Great post!

    April 14, 2012 at 10:33 am

  2. I love the slide show of your photographs

    April 14, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    • Glad that you like it, Nursemyra πŸ˜€

      April 18, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  3. I can be rather roundabout about conveying my feelings too. ^^

    April 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    • This make us feel more comfort, right? πŸ˜€

      April 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm

  4. Hmm. It includes a deep message. Dreams reflect our real thought. I read a book written by Freud.

    April 14, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    • I read a book written by Freud, which is “Interpretation of Dreams” I hadn’t finished reading the whole book, but the part which most impressed me was when he mentioned about dreams as disguised fulfillment of repressed wishes. πŸ˜€

      April 18, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  5. this was a lovely post Cristina!!!

    April 15, 2012 at 1:31 am

  6. Interesting text, and nice onion photo.

    April 16, 2012 at 4:29 am

    • Glad that you like the onion photo

      April 18, 2012 at 12:59 pm

  7. Well said! =) And great photo too…

    I remembered my husband’s friend. He said, if you want to be a good photographer. Take a picture of everything. If your wife brought veggies from the market, take a picture of them. Then, I saw your picture of onions. lol

    April 16, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    • What a coincidence! lol

      April 20, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  8. That’s a wonderful way of putting things, Cristina!
    So elegantly said!
    And photographed, too!
    πŸ™‚

    April 17, 2012 at 2:52 am

    • Thank you so much, spilledinkguy. πŸ˜€ Wish you a wonderful weekend!

      April 20, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  9. That is one beautiful post my friend. Dreams , especially good ones are just amazing . I used to dream more when I was younger, I wish it will happen again . They make life more exciting. Stay blessed.

    April 17, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    • Dreams are one of the most beautiful things at night. πŸ˜€ They are like adventures of the night time. πŸ˜€ Have a nice weekend!

      April 20, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  10. Great thoughts and Dreams my friend ,excellent work πŸ™‚

    April 17, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    • Thank you, my friend, I wish you have a nice weekend. πŸ˜€

      April 20, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  11. Northern Narratives

    Very nice post and photo.

    April 18, 2012 at 4:19 am

    • Thanks, happy that you like it. πŸ™‚

      April 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  12. Great prose to go with the pic.
    Not sure why, but something about the pic transfixed me. I’ve spent the last several minutes just staring at it…
    Well Done!

    April 20, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • πŸ˜€ Glad that the little onion had got your attention!

      April 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  13. We humans are so complex aren’t we. Lovely onion photo. We had lots of red & brown onions from our veggie garden this season.

    April 20, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  14. Love the composition and focus on your photograph! I’m often not direct in communicating too! I think I started it to see if people would take the time to figure out what I meant. Dreams are intriguing. I love having them and trying to decifer them! Hope you have a great week!

    April 23, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Leave a Reply

