Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 16 – Chinese Calligraphy

People say that practicing Chinese Calligraphy can bring benefits to both our physical and spiritual well being, such as increasing one’s discipline, concentration, persistence, and enhancing calmness and peacefulness. Although there is a list of benefits, but I do not think I would going to start practicing it soon, cause I am allergic to the ink.

This morning, I visited my boyfriend and saw him practicing Chinese Calligraphy. While I was watching him practicing, I silently think to myself, “He seems to like this kind of art so much. It has became his daily practice since a long time ago, I guess.” I asked him to write a word for me to be photographed and to be put on this post of this week. Then, he wrote me this:

“莊周夢蝶”

It means “The Butterfly Dream of Zhuangzi”.

Once upon a time, Zhuangzi (also known as Zhuang Zhou) , a philosopher back in 300 BC to 200 BC, dreamed that he was a butterfly, and in the dream he was conscious only of his life as a butterfly and unaware that he was himself as a human being. Soon after awake, he found himself to be Zhou again.

Zhou: “Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man.” 

Have a nice weekend everyone. 😀

Camera: Canon EOS 500D
Photo created on April 21, 2012.

41 responses

  1. thriftyniftygifty

    So intricate and beautiful!

    April 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    • Thank you. 😀 Your icon is so cute.

      April 23, 2012 at 10:38 am

  2. Very interesting story.. I don’t think I’ll ever learn Chinese Calligraphy! That looks so hard =s

    April 21, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    • same here =u= it requires a lot of time…

      April 23, 2012 at 10:40 am

  3. What a beautiful letter. My daughter started to practice calligraphy

    April 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • That’s nice! 😀 Is your younger daughter or the eldest? Or both of them?

      April 23, 2012 at 10:41 am

  4. Steve Barnes

    Beautiful image and beautiful words too!

    April 21, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    • Thank you, Steve Barnes. 😀

      April 23, 2012 at 10:42 am

  5. Beautiful picture. You’re boyfriend has excellent penmanship!
    And thank you for the story- I’d never heard that before.

    April 21, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    • And now, I’m thinking to myself, “am I still dreaming, in between layers of dreams or am I awake” 😀

      April 23, 2012 at 10:53 am

  6. The caligraphy is beautiful, even without explanations; the story adds so much meaning, and I’ve never heard this before. Your boyfreind seems to have a good talent for this kind of work.

    April 23, 2012 at 2:55 am

    • Thank you. I’m so glad that you like the story. 😀 Between the philosopher and a butterfly there must be some distinction, they said, it is a spiritual transformation.

      April 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

  7. *Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaasp!!*

    Zhuangzi!! I love Zhuangzi! It’s been so long since I read him, but it was so interesting – – I took a class in university devoted only to the book of Zhuangzi!

    p.s. that calligraphy is beeee-yutiful! 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    • Zhuangzi was an awesome philosopher. I adore him so much. 😀
      Thanks for visiting my blog, btw.

      April 25, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  8. It must be a very good art where one can practise mindfulness.

    April 23, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    • Yes, it is. If I am not allergic to ink, I would have joined my boyfriend. 😀

      April 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

  9. Very exciting 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    • Thanks, Jakesprinter. 😀

      April 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  10. This is a beautiful image! The story is wonderful too!

    April 23, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  11. Northern Narratives

    I like calligraphy. It is so beautiful and artistic 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    • Thanks that you like it, Northern Narratives. 😀

      April 25, 2012 at 5:25 pm

  12. That is so beautiful…I’d love to try it some day!

    April 24, 2012 at 4:08 am

    • Thank you, Helen. I’m sure you’re gonna like it. 😀

      April 25, 2012 at 5:24 pm

  13. I’ve always admired people with such great patience and skill…
    makes my ‘writing’ look very, very unimpressive!
    🙂

    April 24, 2012 at 4:16 am

    • I believe that your handwriting is as awesome as your digital art piece. 😀

      April 25, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  14. This is beautiful!

    April 24, 2012 at 5:12 am

  15. It must take a lot of practice to do it this well

    April 25, 2012 at 6:39 am

  16. I like the butterfly story too, especially the ending

    April 25, 2012 at 6:40 am

    • His story makes me sometimes to ponder this as well, “Is my everyday life also a dream?” Or, “Am I really awake from my “dream”?”…

      April 25, 2012 at 5:30 pm

  17. Great story! I think Chinese calligraphy is so gorgeous! It’s definitely an art form.

    April 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    • Glad that you like the story. Dream is the subject I like to talk about. 😀

      May 3, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  18. Love it. So artistic and rich in details. beautiful my friend!

    April 26, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    • Thank you, Island Traveler. 😀

      May 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

  19. I love seeing how intense the concentration of a calligrapher when he/she is writing his/her art! 🙂

    April 26, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    • It seems that they can ignore and forget about everything around them. 😀

      May 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  20. This is so beautiful and so exciting for me dear Cristina, you can’t believe but when my husband traveled to China, ı wanted him to bring me calligraphy set… and yes, he did not only one, more than one he brought me calligraphy sets… They are so beautiful… I want to learn about Chines calligraphy… But I haven’t started yet… There are some beautiful websites for this. Thank you for this beautiful post and always impresses me this philosopher, especially the thought behind these words about butterfly… And your boyfriend should be so nice on calligraphy…. I loved your photograph too. With my love, nia

    April 27, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    • Thank you, Nia, my dear. 😀 Why not starting today practicing calligraphy? Everything needs a start. The calligraphy set that your husband has brought home is awakening, and it is waiting for you to use them. 😀

      May 3, 2012 at 2:15 pm

  21. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    True Chinese calligraphy is so utterly beautiful. I hope it never dies away, in time.

    June 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  22. Pingback: Shark Games IV | Story of Dom: The Manuscript Days

Leave a Reply

