Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 28 – Practice And Talks By Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo


A friend of mine offers me two tickets to the “Practice And Talks By Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo”, an English-Tibetan Buddhist nun who spent 12 years in a remote cave in Himalayas, searching for spiritual enlightenment.

I never thought I would actually meet someone that honorable like her. I’m not a Buddhist, but still find her path and life experience very interesting.

The talk starts at 10 a.m. and ends at 4 p.m.. It is quite long but worth a visit. Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo mainly talks about the mind training in eight verses, and I just can’t wait to share them with you here. They are:

THE MIND TRAINING IN EIGHT VERSES

1. Wishing to attain enlightenment
For the sake of all sentient beings,
Who excel even the Wish-fulfilling Jewel,
May I constantly cherish them all.

2. Whenever I am in the company of others,
May I consider myself least important,
And, from the depth of my heart,
Cherish others and hold them supreme.

3. In all activities, my I examine my mind,
And as soon as disturbing emotions arise,
Endangering myself and others,
May I firmly face and avert them.

4. Whenever I see ill-natured people,
Overwhelmed by strong misdeeds and sufferings,
May I cherish them as something rare,
As though I had found a treasure-trove.

5. When others out of envy
Mistreat me with slander and abuse,
May I take defeat upon myself
And offer the victory to them.

6. Even if someone whom I have helped
And in whom I have placed my hopes
Does great wrong by harming me,
May I see them as an excellent spiritual friend.

7. In brief, directly or indirectly,
May I give all help and joy to my mothers,
And may I take all their harm and pain
Secretly upon myself.

8. May none of this ever be sullied
By thoughts of the eight worldly concerns,
May I understand all things as illusions and,
Without attachment, gain freedom from bondage.

I quite like the atmosphere in the hall, it is quite peaceful and full of positive vibes. The way how she talks is wonderful. There is richness in her message, and wisdom in her eyes. Her words have souls. One of the thing she said that most impressed me was: “There is a seed in everyone of us, we all can awaken, and break free of the bonds of the wheel of reincarnation.”

Wish you all have a great weekend, and “love, compassion and healthy vibes” to you! πŸ˜€

27 responses

  1. how wonderful to hear her πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2012 at 12:23 am

    • Yes, the talks is just wonderful! πŸ˜€

      July 15, 2012 at 8:59 am

  2. Great work my friend πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2012 at 10:14 am

  3. Sounds absolutely fascinating, Cristina!
    She sounds like such an impressive woman… it’s impossible not to respect and admire someone who has worked so hard to put others first with such great kindness and compassion… amazing!
    πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

    • Yes, there are so many things I still have to learn from her words! ^^ Kindness and compassion are easy to achieve when dealing with nice people, but when dealing with some other people who intended to treat people badly, that will be difficult.

      July 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  4. Sounds like a wonderful, inspirational woman.
    I’m not sure I personally could handle that level of serenity in my life.

    July 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    • Some says, serenity is emptiness, alone, and nothing. πŸ˜€ No more pain, but also no more gain, no more chaos but only silence, no more roller coaster but only eternal stillness. >u<

      July 22, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  5. It’s a very impressive talking. You learned a lot and I also learned a lot. πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    • The talks remained for 4 days, but I only have time to attend 1 day. πŸ˜€ I wish I could attend them all.

      July 22, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  6. Fascinating.

    Good that you have the opportunity for it. πŸ™‚

    July 15, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    • I’m so thankful to my friend who gave me the tickets. πŸ˜€

      July 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  7. I love this post, Ristinw! I totally dig her messages. I agree that even when others hurt us, sometimes we just gotta see the beauty in the fact that the so-called ‘wrong doers’ just gave us an opportunity to better ourselves. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for this post.

    -c

    July 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    • Yeah, the so-called “wrong doers”, we would, at the end, realize how wonderful it was to have met them. They provided us a mirror to view our shadows through their words and behaviors. They were in fact our reflection of our weakness or the negativity we have but denied by ourselves.

      July 22, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  8. I would love to attend something like this. We all need to hear something inspirational from others. It helps keep us motivated. Beautiful post. Have a great week .

    July 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    • Thanks! Have a wonderful and sweet weekend to you and to your family. πŸ˜€

      July 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  9. β€“β€“β€“β€“ΰΉ–ΫœΫ£ BƑ–

    Ya! Great!

    July 20, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  10. Looks like you enjoyed it a lot! =)

    July 21, 2012 at 11:52 am

    • Yes, it was pretty nice! πŸ˜€

      July 22, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  11. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!

    July 22, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • Thanks for the compliment πŸ˜€
      This is the second year of running a blog. I love blogging. It is so happy to share things with people who have got the same passion of blogging.

      August 11, 2012 at 4:12 pm

  12. Great work Cristina πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2012 at 6:42 am

    • Thanks, Jake! πŸ˜€

      July 22, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  13. The words are as noble — and as difficult to put into practice — as the words of Jesus. Still, they can be an ideal. Better to struggle and fail, I suppose, than not to attempt at all.

    July 24, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    • Yeap, I have the same kind of thought as well. Better try and fail than not to try at all.

      August 11, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  14. gsyhtrysrt ty t6ytr ywrty sertw wty wty 5 w56 w456 w5t wertw y

    October 26, 2012 at 12:52 am

Leave a Reply

