Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 29 – We Have The Choice


About four years ago, I saw Batman 2 – The Dark Knight in the cinema. I still remember quite well the feeling I had when I was leaving the cinema after the end of the movie. I had a great time. The story was great. I liked it the way Christopher Nolan presented the film.

The movie led me to some thoughts about human weakness. When a very bad situation comes, there is a chance that even the most decent-hearted people could fall into temptation. However, in my opinion, there is always a choice. To be an evil or to be an angel is just a matter of what we choose to do.

I think that there is no guarantee in life that everything would be perfect, great and out of chaos. Bad things happen and always happen, even to good people. In these cases, people who are not strong enough to remain kind-hearted to deal with unfair and unpleasant situations would, eventually, fall into temptation to act badly. So, to be a good person is not an easy task, it needs resistance and perseverance, at least.

I remember that there is a story about how a devil tempts a good-hearted and hard working farmer to fall into the hands of the “unfavorables”. The devil fails in the beginning by giving the farmer bad luck, poverty, pain, struggle and suffering. It seems like there is nothing can impure the farmer’s pure heart. Until one day, the devil finds a very simple way to tempt the farmer, which is by giving him lots of money. Finally, the farmer falls into temptation and the devil successfully takes the farmer’s soul.

The little story here shows that human are so vulnerable. A friend of mine asked me what I think about a kind-hearted person. To me, a kind-hearted person must be someone who can always look for the good side in people and who can forgive others in any kind of situation, even when being treated unjustly, unfairly and badly by someone else. I know it is easier said than done. However, these are choices we have. We can choose to be good or to fall…

Image: Rough Sketch

23 responses

  1. I watched Batman 1 but I haven’t watched Batman 2. It sounds to have deep thought.

    July 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    • Batman series are really awesome. I really love it. Yesterday I watched Batman 3 with my boyfriend, he said the movie version is far more interesting than animated and comic version. πŸ™‚

      July 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

  2. Well said. It’s a matter of choice, how we lead our life.

    July 22, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    • Yes Yes. And, all we need is … to stay aware. @0@

      July 23, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  3. I don’t think anyone is always one or the other. Best we can do is strive to be the people we want to be…
    Excellent post!

    July 22, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    • Yea, I agree with you. Sometimes we have both sides. And sometimes it’s easy to swing from one extreme to another…

      July 23, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  4. We would love to post your Day365 post on your old blog at toemail if you do not mind? And a link to your new blog, of course! http://toemail.wordpress.com

    July 23, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • Of course I would love to πŸ˜€
      Thanks for that!

      July 23, 2012 at 5:33 pm

  5. β€“β€“β€“β€“ΰΉ–ΫœΫ£ BƑ–

    Bad things happen and always happen, even to good person. Thats right. I think so.^^

    July 23, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    • That’s what life is… @ – @ aiiiiii…

      July 25, 2012 at 7:32 pm

  6. Hello! πŸ™‚ its jess! ( if you still remember me!)

    wow you made it to 365!! GRATS thats super awesome! πŸ™‚
    guess i can never get away from my blog, it will always come back! and i am somewhat back again! hehe! miss you πŸ™‚

    Jess

    July 24, 2012 at 3:54 am

    • Hey Jess! πŸ˜€ Nice to see you again! πŸ˜€
      It’s been a long time since the last time I see you around. Hope you everything is great!

      July 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm

  7. I’ve never seen Batman Begins.

    But I absolutely loved The Dark Knight. It’s… Well, something. I can’t quite find the word for it.

    July 24, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • Batman Begins was awesome too! You may love it after watching it. πŸ˜€

      July 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      • Are you sure?

        I’ve been avoiding watching it because someone told me that it’s not as good as the masterpiece that The Dark Knight is.

        July 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  8. Ahhh, well put. I used to think of myself as a kind-hearted person, but when I get stressed and tired, I get angry easily. 😦 Gotta make sure I get the rest to do well. As Micheal Jackson sang, “I’m starting with the man in the mirror!” πŸ™‚

    July 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    • Some people say there are basically three types of “heart” we could all experience πŸ˜€ 1. Saint heart: always remains in balance and still can treat others kindly in any kind of situations; 2. Normal heart: remains in balance and treat others nicely in most of the time but when challenge arrives, it will lose balance; 3. Sick heart: out of balance and sometimes out of control, intentionally do bad things and treat others badly even being treated kindly. @.@

      July 25, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      • I wanna be the saint heart!

        July 26, 2012 at 7:46 am

      • me too ^0^

        July 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  9. It’s posted now. Thanks so much, we really appreciate it!

    July 29, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • So many thanks, Toemailer! πŸ˜€

      July 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  10. Money has been the ruin of many people’s lives. A good example is lottery winners here in the U.S. Many couldn’t handle it, made poor decisions and wrecked their lives and relationships.

    August 2, 2012 at 1:31 am

  11. I like that story. So true… We can never say we are at the position where we are “okay”… we are always vulnerable and should always be alert and on guard.

    August 2, 2012 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

