Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 32 – Wild Animals In The Zoo

DID WE MAKE THE RIGHT DECISION, KEEPING WILD ANIMALS IN THE ZOO?

Some people may say yes, and the reason is that we could help to prevent species from becoming extinct and to provide educational programs; other may say that it is wrong and selfish to keep wild animals in the zoo, taking them away from their home and freedom. What do you think? I love going to the zoo, but I feel sad when I see the animals looking sad and lifeless. It makes me think that they don’t seem to like being kept in the zoo for some reason. Maybe you would say that I’m just being subjective. (Yes, I am.) There is no factual basis to support what I’m thinking. Who are we to speak for the animals?

If we could talk to animals and learn what they really feel about being locked behind bars, do you think that things would have been the same?

Camera: Olympus C730UZ
Photo created on June 12, 2006

22 responses

  1. I have always been torn about this. I have mixed feelings about people keeping exotic pets too. 😦

    August 11, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    • It’s fun and happy to visit a zoo, but when I keep looking at the animals for a bit longer time, I’ll start to have feelings about they are imprisoned. 😦

      August 15, 2012 at 11:24 am

  2. I think so. However, there are also meanings of a zoo that you can learn about animals a lot and the staff can save precious kinds of animals.

    August 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    • Yeah, from a positive perspective, a zoo can provide precious education for people. πŸ™‚ Though I have sad feelings about them, but I still enjoy to visit a zoo.

      August 15, 2012 at 11:27 am

  3. There is so much to learn through zoos and other places that are rescuing animals, etc., things we’d never know without the interaction you get there. It does seem sad sometimes, to see animals rather lifeless, but sometimes it’s inevitable, a choice of life or death.

    Gee, I didn’t mean to get on a soapbox when I started! But I do feel like I learn a lot at zoos and such. πŸ™‚

    August 12, 2012 at 5:01 am

    • Yea, you have point. Zoo provides precious education for us. Without it, maybe the only way I can see different kind of animals is from TV. πŸ˜€

      August 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

  4. Still we are responsible to any kind s of animals cause they are animals πŸ™‚

    August 12, 2012 at 8:29 am

  5. Hmmm, good question… Sadly some people will be too happy to make these animals extinct so they need some degree of protection but small cages are wrong.. they need real space…

    August 13, 2012 at 12:03 am

    • Yeah, I hope small cages can become larger wild-like park for them. People should build larger zoo! πŸ˜€

      August 15, 2012 at 11:30 am

  6. I think a well-run zoo is a good thing for everyone…including the animals.

    August 13, 2012 at 1:44 am

  7. I think/hope that if a zoo is well-run (and the animals are well-cared for) that the benefits outweigh the challenges – (as you’ve said in education and conservation efforts, etc.)…
    it’s a very complicated issue/challenge though, isn’t it?! No ‘easy’ answers, it seems.
    πŸ™‚

    August 13, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    • yeap πŸ˜€ A question without “easy” answer

      August 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

  8. β€“β€“β€“β€“ΰΉ–ΫœΫ£ BƑ–

    I never go to the zoo. They have only at big cities, not my town. we have forests with wild animals but I think I shouldnt go to there. T____T. I also want not to see they in the zoo.

    August 16, 2012 at 12:36 am

    • I understand you feeling. @0@ It feels sad when looking at them being locked in a tiny space.

      August 21, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  9. As always, nice shot.
    I was at a zoo recently. The elephant enclosure was vary nice, but inside, the elephant pen was very small, with just enough room for the elephant to take a few steps and turn around.
    Very disheartening.

    August 16, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    • I hope more people will consider building larger room for the animals. They just can’t live in a tiny space which not even have enough space to swing a cat >.<

      August 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm

  10. Oh such a lovely bear! I enjoy visiting the zoos where there is space and the animals are well cared for, but it is sad when some animals are confined.

    August 20, 2012 at 4:53 am

    • Yea. Many of the zoos need improvements. The zoo in my local area is really small and with poor environment. So sad…

      August 21, 2012 at 7:50 pm

  11. I agree~~ 😦

    August 28, 2012 at 3:43 am

  12. I was pleased to discover recently that Dublin Zoo have had a major redevelopment and the zoo has doubled in size! The animals have much larger enclosures and the staff are working hard on daily enrichment programmes. If animals must be kept in captivity, then arrangements need to be in place to keep them as happy and fulfilled as possible.

    September 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

