Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 45 – A Dark Night Sky


Image: Combined image of two pictures. Hac Sa Beach (background) + Guia Hill (night sky)

I’m so thirsty for a really dark night sky. I live in a tiny city where light pollution makes it absolutely impossible to view the band of the milky way with my own eyes. I have a strong wish to see it. Two years ago, I went to Lijiang hoping to get a chance to see the milky way at night, but it ended up realizing that the place where I had spent the night was not dark enough to see it. I still enjoyed the trip, even though the wish of stargazing was not fulfilled.

I’ve seen so many pictures of the milky way in the internet, and most of the pictures I’ve seen were taken in remoted area located so far away from where my home is located. I don’t know what I’m going to do to realize my wish.

Travel 10,192 kms (6333 miles) for viewing stars or just burry the wish silently in my heart. How do you think about that?

Here is one of the most interesting video I found on youtube that I would like to share with you. The milky way, clusters, shooting star and southern lights all can be seen at once in one single location: at Lake Tekapo! 😀

17 responses

  1. I live in an area where the lights are too bright to see the stars, so I can’t wait to go on holiday in December to the countryside where there is no light!

    November 14, 2012 at 12:27 am

    • That will be wonderful! 😀 I can’t wait to see your beautiful pictures after you come home!

      November 24, 2012 at 11:28 pm

  2. I was just looking up at the stars in the woods last night! I’m realizing how lucky I am to be able to do that!

    November 14, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    • I wish I could do the same thing here! I want to view stars view stars!!!! ;D

      November 24, 2012 at 11:29 pm

  3. I’ve always wanted to see the Milky Way, too. I never have!

    Lake Tekapo looks beautiful!! I soooo want to go to New Zealand!!

    November 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    • Go! Go! Go! 😀 And I think this will gonna be the most exciting and wonderful trip you ever had if at the same time the southern lights appear above the sky!!! 😀

      November 24, 2012 at 11:33 pm

  4. I grew up in an area that was fairly remote… so on nights where it wasn’t cloudy (or the moon wasn’t too bright) the stars were always very visible. I wish I had had my camera then, because the place I live now is much brighter at night (and I’m not able to photograph many stars here, either).
    🙂

    November 15, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    • You can always visit the place where you grew up again 😀 … maybe not that realistic at the moment…a bit far away…hmmm and I always have a wish. I wish all the lights in the city can go off for at least 5 minutes in every single night, so I can enjoy the dark night sky^^

      November 24, 2012 at 11:40 pm

  5. The view you saw is nice.
    The travelling for the spectacular view is definitely worth it.
    It’s on my list of things to do.

    November 16, 2012 at 2:52 am

    • 😀 Yey! One more vote to motivate me to go catch my dream. Thanks!!!!

      November 24, 2012 at 11:42 pm

  6. What a beautiful video! Night sky has a dream.

    November 16, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    • May I ask if I have chance to see the milky way also in Japan? I’ve seen pictures of the milky way taken by some people in Japan too. Just don’t know where exactly it was taken…

      November 24, 2012 at 11:46 pm

  7. These are beautiful

    November 19, 2012 at 1:18 am

  8. Thanks for the video it is a pleasure to know you and add you for my newest friend.

    November 25, 2012 at 12:53 am

  9. Love the night sky and the beach around it. Beautiful, peaceful, even romantic.

    November 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm

  10. Pingback: Winter night sky beckons… | Greatpoetrymhf's Weblog

Leave a Reply

