Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 46 – The Human Bodies Exhibition

Today I went to visit the Human Bodies Exhibition in Venetian Macau. When I looked at the first “display” as I entered the exhibition hall, I didn’t expect it is a real preserved human body. I thought to myself, “It looks so real! … But I don’t think what is displaying in front of me is really a real body!”. I kept this thought in my mind until I walked out the exhibition hall.

In the hall, it shows slices of human bodies, skeletons, organs, every inches of bones and muscles, blood vessels, nervous system, the brain, everything that you could imagine… Its details really astonished me!

I took a lot of pictures in the hall, but after coming home reviewing those pictures again I felt like a bit scary and I didn’t want to keep them. I deleted them all, except the photo attached here. πŸ˜›

P.S.: Exhibition Period: From 25 Oct 2012 until 24 Feb 2013

33 responses

  1. They had this expo in New York too, but I didn’t make it.
    It is a fascinating concept though…

    November 19, 2012 at 12:14 am

    • It’s awesome to see the human body in great detail! Very educational though…but at the same time I feel a little bit scared. ^=^

      November 24, 2012 at 10:59 pm

  2. That is creepy….

    November 19, 2012 at 1:17 am

    • I agree with you! That’s really creepy! @0@

      November 24, 2012 at 10:56 pm

  3. cool! I went to the one in NYC

    November 19, 2012 at 3:38 am

    • Did you enjoying it or feeling gross?;)

      November 24, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      • YES I DID!!! lol. and then I had ice cream afterwards haha

        December 1, 2012 at 9:28 am

  4. Oh, it’s cool. I want to visit the exhibition.

    November 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    • Be prepared to be scared! πŸ˜€

      November 24, 2012 at 11:01 pm

  5. I think this exhibit was on display in St. Louis, too…
    even though it does look very interesting I didn’t make it over to check it out.
    πŸ™‚

    November 20, 2012 at 3:16 am

    • It might be a good thing ;D One of my friend told me she regretted to visit the exhibition cause she ended up having nightmares about cut human bodies.

      November 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm

  6. I went to see it when it was in San Diego. Definitely the creepiest exhibition I’ve ever been to.

    November 20, 2012 at 11:16 am

    • I told myself to not visit this kind of exhibition again if there will be similar thing in the future. πŸ˜‰ It scares me a bit.

      November 24, 2012 at 11:08 pm

  7. It’s interesting and a learning experience I guess, but too macabre for me. o.O

    November 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    • I wanted to leave the exhibition hall when I saw the display of slices of human body ;( That was not the thing I expected to see! Was that really necessary to display them in thin slices? ewwwww

      November 24, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  8. Beautiful post my friend πŸ™‚

    November 25, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • Thanks, Jake πŸ˜‰

      December 1, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      • Your welcome my friend πŸ™‚

        December 1, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  9. I wonder if it will come to Australia?
    I agree with you, Cristina, it would be a little creepy. However, I’d like to see it just the same. I think the educational benefit would be worth a little ‘creep’. Mind you; I may not say that afterward if I were to have ‘bad dreams’…! πŸ˜‰

    November 26, 2012 at 8:10 am

    • If you imagine them as artificial body and not real, you may not have bad dreams after visiting it. πŸ˜‰ I had noticed in the internet that similar exhibition was held in Melbourne Australia on January last year. It showed that they displayed human body and animals as well. Ewwwww

      December 1, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      • Hmmmm… I think I’d need to really ponder whether to go or not. It does seem a bit macabre..!

        December 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm

  10. Wow… looks…. interesting. Hehe… I’m not very appreciative of anatomy though. =p Haha It scares me to death!

    November 27, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    • It scares me too, Viviene. ^^

      December 1, 2012 at 2:29 pm

  11. They do look so real and yes, scary. I saw something similar at Moody Garden’s this year and they just look so life-like. Great post!

    November 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    • Thanks, Island Traveler. Their contribution to medicine and education is valuable. Send them prayers. May their souls rest in peace…

      December 1, 2012 at 2:32 pm

  12. Hahaha, I can understand that all the figures look really scary. I’ve seen this exhibit when it came to Canada! It was really weird but cool to look at! Very amazing, actually. I think it’s pretty cool that all those people volunteered their bodies for science.

    December 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  13. You visited my blog, “An Author, An Angel and A Healing Brick”, so I popped in to visit yours. I’m so glad that I did. Facinating stuff here! Wow! NOT what I expected to see here. I’m not sure how I feel about it, but at least now I KNOW about it. Thank you for a powerful and thoughtful post. And….it’s so nice to meet you. xoJulia

    December 4, 2012 at 11:15 pm

  14. I have heard about the one in NYC. While in NY, I wanted to go , but my children weren’t ready for that yet. Still too young.

    December 8, 2012 at 10:16 pm

  15. Did you ask if they were actually real?

    December 15, 2012 at 2:41 pm

  16. Wow, that’s amazing, Cristina. I had no idea there was a display such as this. I don’t know that I would want photos, either!

    December 17, 2012 at 1:30 pm

  17. Can anyone tell me if the exhibit will be coming back to Toronto Canada?

    April 20, 2013 at 8:50 am

    • I’m not sure about it, Melissa. I hope so πŸ˜€

      April 26, 2013 at 10:43 pm

  18. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    I am glad you gave us at least one picture! Fascinating, utterly fascinating.

    Who has the stomach to work on a deceased person to preserve & present this way, I don’t know, but really, it has me reflect deeply: just wow.

    May 3, 2013 at 4:52 am

Leave a Reply

