Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 8 – Five Days Trip in Beijing (1/3)

DAY ONE –
(2013.Feb.12)

Beijing_Day 1_03

Wang Fu Jin Street is a shopping street with 15% old and 75% new, 8% traditional and 92% modern buildings, mixed together. I don’t feel I like this kind of mixture. If I were asked to describe the street simply in one or three words, I would say, uninteresting or out of harmony.

Travel Tip: Please consider not selecting Wang Fu Jin Street as your first place to visit in Beijing. Visit it only after visiting Da Shan Lan Street, which is located near Qianmen Station. Both of them are shopping streets, but the difference is that Da Shan Lan Street is surrounded by famous traditional Chinese stores and old buildings.

DAY TWO –
(2013.Feb.13)

Beijing_Day 2_07

Pack of people lining up at the ticket office at the near entrance of the Forbidden City. That day was the fourth day of Chinese New Year, and the number of visitors that I saw at the place had made my desire of getting in the museum to shatter.

After taking some photos, we both decided to leave.

Beijing_Day 2_013

Following the direction shown on the website Tripadvisor, we took the subway line number 2 and got off at Yonghegong Station to look for a vegetarian restaurant.

I know that there are two vegetarian restaurants in the Yonghegong area. One is located besides the entrance of the Lama Temple (雍和宮), named Fairy Su, and the other one is located at the street opposite to the entrance of the Lama Temple, named Xu Xiang Zhai Vegetarian Restaurant.

Beijing_Day 2_027

After lunch, we walked to the Lama Temple. The most interesting thing to see in the Lama Temple is the Giant Buddha at the Ten Thousand Happiness Pavilion, which is located at the rear part of the temple. This Giant Buddha statue is 26 meters high, 8 meters in diameter, 18 meters above the ground and 8 meters underground, and it says that such huge wooden Buddha statue is rarely seen in the world.

Beijing_Day 2_022

People were praying and burning candles in the Lama Temple.

Beijing_Day 2_020

Beijing_Day 2_032

After visiting Lama Temple, we went to the Temple Fairs at Ditan Park (地壇廟會), which is a common custom during Spring Festival. It cost only RMB$10.00 to get in the park. Things to do in this place are watching folk dances and performances, tasting local snacks and shopping. It is worth a visit if you like cultural experiences.

Travel Tip: By subway, go to Yonghegong Station via subway line number 2 (RMB$2.00), follow the sign post in the subway to “地壇廟會”. Located not far away from the subway station, it takes about 10 minutes of walk to the destination.

There are at least four places to visit at the Yonghegong Station:
1. The Lama Temple (雍和宮)
2. Temple Fairs at Ditan Park (地壇廟會)
3. Imperial College (國子監)
4. Hutong (老胡同)

There are two vegetarian restaurants nearby:
1. Fairy Su Vegetarian Restaurant (next to the entrance of the Lama Temple)
2. Xu Xiang Zhai Vegetarian Restaurant (opposite to the entrance of the Lama Temple, at the Imperial College Street)

To be continued.

Camera: Iphone 4S and Canon 500D

17 responses

  1. Wonderful! Beijing is such a cool spot to visit!

    February 23, 2013 at 10:37 am

    • Beijing is a nice place to visit. Many tourist sites have improved a lot. However, I wish the air quality can be improved as well.

      March 2, 2013 at 5:07 pm

  2. I’ve yet to visit there, when I was little we weren’t allowed to go into the country from Taiwan for some reason but it’s definitely on my bucket list 🙂

    February 23, 2013 at 11:18 am

    • The Great Wall is a must visit 😀

      March 2, 2013 at 5:08 pm

  3. Wow!
    Was it intentional to travel there during the new year?
    Great pictures! The Forbidden City looks very ominous.

    February 23, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    • Yes, Yes! I’ve been wishing to travel to Beijing for some years, and finally I did it 😀

      March 2, 2013 at 5:08 pm

  4. I was surprised at the number of the people. It’s same in Tokyo. So crowded.

    February 23, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    • A lot of people make me feel dizzy sometimes. @0@

      March 2, 2013 at 5:21 pm

  5. I guess going during a time when almost the whole of China is on a break can be quite crowded. *an understatement* 🙂
    Looking forward to more photos of day 2-5. 🙂

    February 24, 2013 at 11:56 am

    • I never want to travel on big holidays again. The crowed scares me. 😀

      March 2, 2013 at 5:22 pm

  6. Very interesting place! Intriguing, too. I know I’ll never visit here, so am happy to learn more about it from your notes.

    I tried to “like” this piece, but the button won’t work for me today!

    February 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    • Oops, the like button wouldn’t work because I was not logged in. Things are working just fine if we do!

      February 25, 2013 at 11:25 pm

      • I’m so grateful to what you do for me. Your kindness and supportive spirit make today, what it looked like as a dull raining day, looks shiny! 😀 Many thanks!

        March 2, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    • Thank you, Clover. 😀
      On my next post, let me show you the Great Wall 😀 And I hope you will like it.

      March 2, 2013 at 5:23 pm

  7. Beautiful photographs, Cristina! Wow! Especially considering all the people you had to work around! I would have guessed that there would be a lot of people interested in visiting the Forbidden City, but… that’s just stunning! I would have made the very same decision that you did!
    🙂

    February 26, 2013 at 6:42 am

    • I’d rather skip the visit and not going inside the crowd. Sometimes, people will push you and I don’t want to be a ham of the sandwich. 😀

      March 2, 2013 at 5:28 pm

  8. Fun, colorful and exciting pictures. I truly enjoyed the temple images.

    March 3, 2013 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

