Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 14 – Little Story About Macau (4/12)

week 14
MACAU TUNG SIN TONG CHARITABLE SOCIETY
Macau Tung Sin Tong (同善堂) was the first Chinese charitable organization established in Macau in 1892. Since the year of establishment, the charitable organization has provided free medical cares and education for those in need and has saved a lot of people, including war refugees during WWII from dying hunger.

The words of the name of the organization, “Tung Sin Tong ”(同善堂), represent the following meanings:
同 – together; be the same as
善 – kindness; goodness
堂 – hall; big room

As I entered the hall of Tung Sin Tong a feeling of gratefulness ran through my veins when I saw what looked like over a hundred portraits of past contributors hung upon the wall. Those past contributors did a lot of goodness for others. Their act of kindness and contributions did make a difference.

This picture was taken at the headquarter of Tung Sin Tong, which was the place where people were taking care of in the past. At the present, Tung Sin Ton continues to provide free medical care, education and baby- sitting service, as well as promoting charitable activities to the public.

I wish the spirit of this kindness remains forever…

Cristina

Camera: Iphone 4S
Location: Tung Sin Tong

16 responses

  1. Hopefully that spirit won’t just last, it will spread.

    April 6, 2013 at 11:44 am

    • I wish the world filled with only kindness 😀

      April 6, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  2. I love how Chinese wording has so much meaning, Starting with just one letter at that.

    April 6, 2013 at 11:58 am

    • I like the word kindness😀

      April 6, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      • Same here🙂🙂

        April 7, 2013 at 1:02 pm

  3. Chinese is difficult for me even if I use 漢字(Chinese character.)
    However, it’s interesting to know new words.

    April 6, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    • 😀 Thankyou, Cocomino. Glad that you like it.

      April 6, 2013 at 8:00 pm

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    I love, truly love people who give so much in life, like this charity & for so long.

    I would never have known of this but for you – thank you for opening my world.

    April 7, 2013 at 6:49 pm

  5. “I wish the spirit of this kindness remains forever…”
    Indeed, Cristina; may it last and grow….!

    April 8, 2013 at 8:25 pm

  6. A wonderful photograph, Cristina (and it ‘feels’ even warmer to me after reading that wonderful back-story you’ve included)!🙂

    April 9, 2013 at 6:34 am

  7. “I wish the spirit of this kindness remains forever…” I wish it does last forever.

    April 9, 2013 at 5:04 pm

  8. I have always been fascinated how Chinese characters come about. When I was in university, I had taken a course on Chinese philosophy. My professor included the evolution of the written language. Very interesting.

    April 10, 2013 at 1:23 am

  9. As long as there are compassionate people, the spirit of kindness will live.🙂

    April 14, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  10. Cool! Those characters (同善堂) have the same meaning in Japanese. But in Japanese you would pronounce them “dou,” “zen” and “dou.”

    That sounds like a really great place! I hope it continues to do good for the world.🙂

    April 15, 2013 at 8:30 am

  11. Thanks for sharing this bit of history.

    April 19, 2013 at 6:26 am

Leave a Reply

