Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 15 – Nothing Happens Until You Make it Happen

week 15_heart sutra
A monkey is being held captive in a huge cage with plenty of food. Not far away from the cage there is a blackboard, and this is the instruction written on the blackboard, “You can unlock the door by using the key placed in your pocket. You will be free.” The monkey reads the instruction every single day, but still in the cage.

One day, a man approaches the cage and asks the monkey:
Man: “Do you want to go free?”
Monkey: “Yes, I do.”

Man: “Haven’t you read the instruction written on the blackboard?”
Monkey: “I have.”

Man: “If so, why don’t you unlock the door and go free?”
Monkey: “I already did.”

Man: “Did you?”
Monkey: “Yes, I did. I can unlock the door by using the key placed in my pocket. After that, I will be free! How easy it is! I’m free!”

Man:”…Do you really understand what it means?”
Monkey: “Of course I know!” So simple! Unlock the door and go free!”

The monkey wants to go free. He says he knows how to go free but he never really try follow the instruction to unlock himself from the cage.
He knows how to free himself, but he does nothing.

Yesterday, I and my boyfriend went to a bookshop and bought two books about Heart Sutra (a comic version and a word version). We began to read it last night, and today when we meet each other we talked about them. In our conversation I suddenly realize that without practice and experience I cannot fully understand what something is really mean. It is just like that I know salt is salty, but if I never taste it I cannot truly say that I know what salty is.

Have a nice weekend! πŸ˜€

18 responses

  1. Great story!

    April 14, 2013 at 1:50 am

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    I agree with you that without practice & experience you can’t grasp a full meaning on anything. What a wonderful thing you & your boyfriend did, time out, buying the book, reading, discussing – that’s just gorgeous, it is.

    Great story – despite instruction, the monkey couldn’t free itself. Ah, life…

    April 14, 2013 at 6:28 am

    • Thanks, WordsFallFromMyEyes,. πŸ˜€ We both love reading. This is the thing we have in common. The book – Heart Sutra is difficult to understand. I have yet to finish it. πŸ™‚

      April 26, 2013 at 10:52 pm

  3. It’s interesting to read about Heart Sutra by a comic version. It must be easy to understand what the author says. πŸ™‚

    April 14, 2013 at 7:14 am

    • I find it difficult too. Like, emptiness is form, form is emptiness… =_+

      April 26, 2013 at 10:53 pm

  4. But couldn’t it also be that he IS free πŸ™‚

    He has food and shelter, he knows how to leave but chooses to stay – he has freedom πŸ™‚

    April 14, 2013 at 7:55 am

    • Hee Hee πŸ˜€ Just like us, we choose to stay here to be human in a colorful world.

      April 26, 2013 at 10:55 pm

  5. A good story for us to ponder there.

    But then again, what is being free to each of us?

    April 14, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    • To end of all suffering. Then, nirvana ^^

      April 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

  6. Interesting story~~

    April 15, 2013 at 8:23 am

  7. Really makes you stop and think, doesn’t it?!
    πŸ™‚

    April 16, 2013 at 4:52 am

    • Yes, it is πŸ˜€

      April 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

  8. We have so much to learn and reflect from this story. Somehow I saw myself in certain parts of my life when you wrote, “He knows how to free himself, but he does nothing.” Now, I have the chance to do something and I will…that includes the instructions of life. Thanks.

    April 17, 2013 at 3:05 am

    • Glad that you like the story. It was a long week I have had. I almost get lost in life situation. I think I need to spend the weekend to relax, forget all the trouble, think less and just reflect. Hope it helps to clear up my mind. πŸ˜€

      April 26, 2013 at 11:07 pm

  9. elmediat

    Somehow reminds me of a play, I believe by Samuel Beckett, where a couple are held in a cage/cell. They are upset with their guard. At the end of the play, a curtain is pulled back to reveal that the guard is in a cell and there is another guard behind another set of bars.
    Perhaps true freedom is understanding the cage -micro vs. macro. πŸ˜€

    April 27, 2013 at 9:23 am

  10. This story is full of insights into our humanity. The monkey can get out of the cage “to be free,” he said himself. But one can ask, does he know what it means to be free? Does he care to be free? Or, does he have any use for this freedom? If he yearns for it, does he know what to do with himself after he sets himself free? Where would he go?

    April 28, 2013 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

