Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 26 – Donate Books

week 26
DONATE MY BOOKS TO THE LIBRARY ARE BETTER THAN TO LEAVE THEM ON MY OWN BOOKSHELF

I’m arranging my bookshelf looking for some useful or inspiring and not too old books which can be donated to the Central Library. The library has its own instruction. Books with publish date more than a decade or books with are not accepted. I have to choose my books carefully, trying my best to match my donations to what the library asks for.

After a month, the library will send letter to books donors informing them which books are accepted. Then, people can choose to go collecting back the books that are not accepted or choose to remain in the library letting the library to sell those books for charity.😀

15 responses

  1. I agree with you. It’s a good donation. I often go to a library with my kids.😀

    June 29, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    • My home space is limited, so it’s better for me to give the books away than keep them.😀

      July 7, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  2. That’s a very nice thing you’re doing.
    Every so often my wife and I will bring them a few bags of stuff we aren’t going to read again.
    (We have a lot of books.)

    June 30, 2013 at 12:14 am

    • The books will be more useful in the libraries, aren’t they?😀

      July 7, 2013 at 3:58 pm

  3. Living 120 round trip to the library once a book finds it’s way to my cabin it is there forever. I have re-read some of them so many times I now use duck tape to hold the book together. When I am gone my children can take the whole library and donate it to the library, BUT some of my neighbors have been dropping hints about leaving them the library.

    June 30, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    • I wish I had the time to re-read some of my books. They had inspired me a lot when I needed them most. As time passes and I grow older, too many things in life and hobbies have replaced them. I have got less and less time to spend with books. I miss those days when I was sitting comfortably on my bed, with a hot chocolate placed at the little corner table, reading a book!😀 I miss it!

      July 7, 2013 at 4:06 pm

  4. This is a great way to share! Two years ago, my daughter and I picked books from our many shelves. We pu them all in a box and donated them to a public school in the Philippines.

    June 30, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    • That was a wonderful thing you and your daughter did together!😀 The books you donated were useful to other people.😀

      July 7, 2013 at 4:07 pm

  5. How kind of you to donate your books, Cristina! I love going to the library – it’s always so exciting to find something that might even become a new favorite!🙂

    July 1, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    • Yes! Yes! I loved going to the library. It is a place full of endless of treasures!

      July 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm

  6. Libraries are beautiful places,aren’t they?~

    July 2, 2013 at 12:18 am

    • Yea, I love the simplicity of interior design of the library!😀

      July 7, 2013 at 4:12 pm

  7. It make sense to have such guide so that the library isn’t used as a dumping ground for unwanted books. Right?

    July 6, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    • Yes, yes. They says if they found any of the books are out of their “accept list”, they will give them away to charity.

      July 7, 2013 at 4:11 pm

  8. I like reading books. (^o^). I’ll go to library by bike.

    July 14, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

