Something to share in every single week throughout the year

Week 29 – Sri Shivan Temple

Sri Shivan Temple is located at 24 Geylang East Ave 2, Singapore, just 5 minutes of walk from the Paya lebar MRT station.

This is a Hindu temple dedicated to the God Shiva. It is said that the temple was originally located in Potong Pasir from where it was moved three more times before finally coming to the present Geylang location.

I found this temple beautiful as its outer pastel was paint in nude color, different from other colorful Hindu temple I’ve seen before. I didn’t visit the interior as I heard people chanting inside the temple when I was standing in front of the temple. I was afraid to disturb devotees in case they were worshiping.

IMG_5467

IMG_5470

IMG_5476

From this picture, you can see that the Sri Shivan Temple is just next to the Foo Hai Chan Monastery.

2 responses

  1. The temple is unique and interesting

    October 12, 2014 at 1:47 pm

  2. Hi Cristina. Been ages since I leave a comment here. ^^

    I like how you captured two building of worship in one frame.🙂

    December 20, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

